Archive for November, 2014

Ivy Endowments Performance and Pay 2014

11 / 12 / 2014
by Charles Skorina | Comments are closed

Ivy Endowments Performance and Pay 2014:

Tenure, turnover, and the long game...plus our vote for best CIO over the last ten years.

[Spoiler: Our pick? Seth Alexander, CIO at MIT]

Every fall we chronicle endowment performance and pay at the eight traditional Ivy League schools, and at a few other top private schools around the country.

This year our Alt-Ivys are: Stanford, Chicago, Notre Dame, MIT and Duke.  We think their academic prestige, endowment size and sophisticated management make them investment peers of the Old Ivys.

In previous editions we emphasized five-year annualized returns as a key measurement. Our argument was: as recruiters we are interested in the performance of current management; and the average tenure among institutional chief investment officers is only about five years.



Read More »

SKORINA’S ULTIMATE OUTSOURCER LIST

11 / 01 / 2014
by Charles Skorina | Comments are closed

SKORINA'S ULTIMATE OUTSOURCER LIST

Outsourced chief investment Officers (OCIO) Ver 3.3

N.B.: AUM amounts are discretionary unless otherwise noted

Agility (Perella Weinberg)

Christopher Bittman, CIO

Denver, CO

(303) 813-7910

$5.2bn

cbittman@pwpartners.com

     

Alan Biller and Associates

Alan D. Biller, CEO & Sr Consultant

Menlo Park, CA

(650) 328-7283

$31.5bn (includes $30.4bn Western Teamsters pension)

alan@alanbiller.com

Angeles Investment Advisors

Leslie B. Kautz, Principal

Santa Monica, CA

(310) 393-6300

$43bn advisory, $1.7bn discretionary

lkautz@angelesadvisors.com

     

Appomattox Advisory

Drianne Benner, Director of Institutional Marketing

New York, NY

(212) 546-6247

$1.3bn

dbenner@ainvadvisors.com

     

Artemis Wealth Advisors

Peter M. Rup, Founder & CIO

New York, NY

(212) 838-9000

$753mm$566mm discretionary

prup@artemiswa.com

Athena Capital Advisors

Lisette Cooper, CEO

Lincoln, MA

(781) 274-9300

$4.8bn$3.5bn discretionary

lcooper@athenacapital.com

 

   

Balentine

Rob Ragsdale, Partner

Atlanta, GA

(404) 537-4800

$1.8bn

rragsdale@balentine.com

BlackRock

Edward Ng, MD of BR solutions

New York, NY

(212) 810-5300

$55bn

Edward.ng@blackrock.com

BNY Mellon Asset Mgmt

Andrew D. Wozniak, Head Fiduciary Management

New York, NY

(412) 236-7940

$11bn

andrew.wozniak@bnymellon.com

Callan Associates

Jim Callahan, Executive VP

San Francisco, CA

(415) 974-5060

$2 trillion advisory, $8.4bn discretionary

callahan@callan.com

 

Cambridge Associates

Deirdre Nectow, Mgn Director

 

Boston, MA

(617) 457-1781

 

$139bn advisory, $9.6bn discretionary

dnectow@cambridgeassociates.com

Canterbury Consulting

Poorvi Parekh, Director of Outsourced Investments

Newport Beach, CA

(949) 718-2224

$12.5bn advisory, $1.4bn discretionary

pparekh@canterburyconsulting.com

     

Catholic Investment Services

Peter Jeton, CEO

Cambridge, MA

(617) 758-6590

$100mm seed capital

Christian Brothers Investment Services

Robert P. Stelben, Head of Institutional Development

New York, NY

(212) 490-0800

$5.5bn

bstelben@chisonline.com

Clearbrook Global Advisors

Elliott Wislar, CEO

New York, NY

(212) 683-6686

$30bn advisory, $500mm discretionary

ewislar@clrbrk.com

Commonfund

Sarah E. Clark, Mgn Dir strategic solutions

Wilton, CT

(203) 563 -­5254

$24bn total, $6.9bn discretionary

sclark@cfund.org

CornerStone Partners

Don Laing, Senior Partner

Charlottesville, VA (434) 296-1400

$6.2bn

dlaing@cstonellc.com

Covariance Capital Management (TIAA-CREF)

Cara Howe, Dir business development

Houston, TX

(713) 770-2042

$1.2bn

chowe@covariancecapital.com

 

   

DiMeo Schneider & Assoc.

Robert (Bob) A. DiMeo, Mgn Dir & Co-Founder

Jon Fellows, Partner & Chair,

Discretionary Committee

Chicago, IL

(312) 853-1000

$50bn advisory, $1.5bn discretionary

bdimeo@dimeoschneider.com

 

jfellows@dimeoschneider.com

 

   

Disciplina

Matthew W. Wright, President & CIO

Nashville, TN

(615) 490-6007

AUM not available

mww@disciplina.com

 

   

Discretionary Management Services (DeMarche Assoc.)

Thomas C. Woolwine, President

Overland Park, KS

(913) 981-1345

$27bn advisory, $398mm discretionary

twoolwine@dms-demarche.com

 

   

Edgehill Endowment Partners

Ellen Shuman, Mgn Partner

Nina F. Scherago, Mgn Partner

New Haven, CT

(203) 691-7392

(203) 691-7426

$140mm

d.e.shuman@edgehillendowment.com

n.scherago@edgehillendowment.com

Federal Way Asset Mgmt

Salim Shariff, MD & CIO

Michael J. Phillips, Chair & CEO

Federal Way, WA

(253) 236-3535

$5bn

sshariff@fwamlp.com

mphillips@fwamlp.com

Fiduciary Research & Consulting

John Boich, President & CIO

San Francisco, CA

(415) 671-4020

$8.4bn

john@fiduciaryresearch.com

Fortress Partners Funds

Alexander Cook, Co-CIO

Stuart Bohart, Co-CIO

New York, NY

(212) 798-6076

$1.65bn

msnyder@fortress.com

Fund Evaluation Group

Gary Price, Managing Principal

Cincinnati, OH

(513) 719-5101

$40bn advisory, $2.8bn discretionary

gprice@feg.com

     

Gallagher Fiduciary Advisors

Nick Davies, Area President

Washington, DC

(202) 898-2270

$47bn advisory, $2bn discretionary

nick_davies@ajg.com

Glenmede
Gordon Fowler, Jr., President, CEO & CIO

Philadelphia, PA

(215) 419-6640

$25bn total, $9.34bn institutional discretion

gordon.fowler@glenmede.com

Global Endowment Mgmt

Stephanie Lynch, Partner

Charlotte, NC

(704) 333-8282

$5.7bn

slynch@globalendowment.com

Goldman Sachs

Kane Brenan, Mgn Director

New York, NY

(212) 855-9851

$25bn

kane.brenan@gs.com

Hall Capital Partners

Sarah Stein, President

San Francisco, CA

(415) 288-0544

$27.6bn$4.1bn institutional discretion

sstein@hallcapital.com

Hewitt EnnisKnupp (AON)

Steve Cummings, President

Chicago, IL

(847) 295-5000

$45bn

s.cummings@aonhewitt.com

HighVista

Brian Chu, Partner

Boston, MA

(617) 406-6500

$3.5bn

bchu@highvista.com

Hirtle Callaghan

Nicole Kraus, Director Institutional Practice

  1. Conshohocken, PA

(610) 943-4192

$23.5bn

nkraus@hirtlecallaghan.com

     

Investment Performance Services

David A. Russell, Sr Investment Strategist

Savannah, GA

Newtown, PA

(215) 867-2330

$30bn advisory, $9.6bn discretionary

drussell@ips-net.com

 

Investure

Ellen Meyer, Client Relations

Charlottesville, VA (434) 220-0280

$10.5bn

emeyer@investure.com

J.P. Morgan Asset Mgmt

Monica Issar, Head Endowment & Foundation Group

New York, NY

(212) 464-2852

$2.3 trillion$37bn discretionary (As of Dec, 2013)

monica.issar@jpmorgan.com

     

Lowe, Brockenbrough & Co.

Christopher Dion, MD & CIO

Richmond, VA

(804) 287-2744

$2bn total, $925mm institutional discretion

cdion@lowebrockenbrough.com

Makena

Bill Miller, Partner & COO

Menlo Park, CA

(650) 926-0510

$20bn

bmiller@makenacap.com

     

Marquette Associates

Tim Burdick, Mgn Dir OCIO program

Chicago, IL

(312) 527-5500

$100bn advisory, $2.5bn discretionary

tburdick@marquetteassociates.com

Mercer (Marsh & McLennan)

Tom Murphy, Senior Partner

Boston, MA

(617) 747-9375

$86bn

tom.murphy@mercer.com

Mangham Associates

Joel R. Mangham, Principal

Charlottesville, VA

(434) 973-2223

$2.3bn

joel@manghamassociates.com

     

Mill Creek Capital Advisors

Richard Stevens, President

Conshohocken, PA

(610) 941-9795

$2.83bn total, $2.25bn discretionary

rstevens@millcreekcap.com

Morgan Creek Cap Mgmt

Mark Yusko, CEO & CIO

Chapel Hill, NC

(919) 933-4004

$4.1bn

myusko@morgancreekcap.com

     

Morgan Stanley/Graystone Consulting

Robert Mandel, Exec Director

Franco Piarulli, Mgn Director

Purchase, NY

(914) 225-5420

(914) 225-7254

$34.3bn

robert.j.mandel@morganstanley.com

franco.piarulli@morganstanley.com

NEPC

Steve F. Charlton, Director consulting services

Cambridge, MA

(617) 374-1300

$4.5bn

scharlton@nepc.com

New Providence Asset Mgmt

Lance Odden, Mgn Director

New York, NY

(646) 292-1200

$2.5bn

lance@newprov.com

Northern Trust

Margret Duvall, Mgn Dir

Chicago, IL

(312) 444-7336

$88bn$40bn discretionary

md64@ntrs.com

Okabena Advisors

Deborah D. Weiss, Managing Director Investment services

Minneapolis, MN

(612) 217-6225

$1.3bn

dweiss@okabena.com

Pacific Global Advisors

David A. Oaten, Managing Director

New York, NY

(212) 405-6400

$20bn discretionary

david.oaten@pacificga.com

     

Partners Capital

Paul Dimitruk, Chair & Partner

Boston, MA & UK

(617) 292-2575

$13bn total, $6.8bn institutional discretion

paul.dimitruk@partners-cap.com

     

Pentegra Retirement Services

Sarah Coxe Lange, Nat Sales Director

White Plains, NY

(914) 821-9563

$9bn, $7.5bn discretionary

slange@pentegra.com

Permanens Capital

John J. Regan, CIO

New York, NY

(212) 358-6532

$1.3bn

lana@permcap.com

     

Post Rock Advisors

Carol B. Einiger, President

New York, NY

(212) 838-7100

AUM not available einiger@postrockadvisors.com

     

Pyramis Global Advisors

Jim Zadrozny, SVP institutional sales

Smithfield, RI

(401) 292-4760

$200bn global, $14bn discretionary

jim.zadrozny@pyramis.com

 

   

Rocaton Investment Advisors

John Hartman, Mgn Director

Norwalk, CT

(203) 621-1717

$400bn advisory, $5.2bn discretionary

john.hartman@rocaton.com

Rockefeller & Co.

Elizabeth P Munson, Pres, Rockefeller Trust Co

NY & D.C.

(202) 719-3012

$43.8bn total, $10.6bn discretionary

emunson@rockco.com

Russell Investments

Eric Macy, Mgn Director

New York, NY

(212) 702-7941

Russell states: $200bn advisory (3/31/14)

$115bn OCIO global institutional clients

$87.8bn OCIO US institutional clients

emacy@russell.com

Salient Partners

John A. Blaisdell, CEO

Houston, TX

(713) 993-4675

$17bn

jblaisdell@salientpartners.com

SECOR Asset Management

Tony Kao, Managing Principal

New York, NY

(212) 980-7350

$9.2bn

tony@secor-am.com

Segal Rogerscasey

Peter Gerlings, SVP Institutional solutions

Darien, CT

(617) 424-7357

$3.6bn discretionary

pgerlings@segalrc.com

SEI Institutional Group

Paul F. Klauder, VP & Managing Director

Oaks, PA

(610) 676-2225

$69.3bn

pklauder@seic.com

SLOCUM

Jon Havice, CIO

Minneapolis, MN

(612) 252-9379

$110bn, $5bn discretionary

jonathanh@jslocum.com

Spider Management Co.

Rob Blandford, President, CIO

Richmond, VA

(804) 200-6917

$3.4bn

rblandfo@richmond.edu

Spruce Private Investors

John Bailey, CEO

Stamford, CT

(203) 428-2600

$3.2bn

jbailey@spruceinvest.com

 

 

 

Spruceview Capital Partners

John A. Garibaldi, Partner

New York, NY

(212) 485-8617

AUM not available

jgaribaldi@spruceviewpartners.com

 

 

 

State Street Global Advisors

Yeng Butler, Head of Fiduciary solutions

Matt Kelley, VP Fiduciary solutions

Boston, MA

(617) 664-2014

 

(617) 664-2433

$47bn

yeng_butler@ssga.com

matthew_kelley@ssga.com

Strategic Investment Group

Deborah Boedicker, Mgn D

Arlington, VA

(703) 236-1620

$35.6bn70% discretionary

dboedicker@strategicgroup.com

Summit Solutions (Summit Strategies Group)

Drew Pfeifer, SVP institutional solutions

Saint Louis, MO

(314) 446-5382

$24.5bn discretionary

d_pfeifer@summitstrategies.com

     

SunTrust Bank

Alan McKnight, Jr., Head of Institutional Investments

Atlanta, GA

(404) 813-9059

$10.5bn

alan.mcknight@suntrust.com

Towers Watson Investment Services

Debra Woida, Head, Delegated Investment Services, Americas

Jane Armstrong, EU head Delegated Investment Services

Chicago, IL

 

(312) 525-2336

 

01737 284860

$58bn discretionary

 

debra.woida@towerswatson.com

 

jane.armstrong@towerswatson.com

     

The Investment Fund for Foundations (TIFF)

Larry Mangan, Head of Member Services

Radnor, PA

(610) 684-8202

$11bn discretionary

lmangan@tiff.org

UBS AG

William Drobny, Head Institutional Marketing

Chicago, IL

(312) 525-7100

$12.8bn

william.drobny@ubs.com

US Trust Bank of America

Joseph Curtin, Mgn Director

New York, NY

(212) 852-3858

$29bn discretionary

joseph.curtin@ustrust.com

Vanguard

Kevin T. Jestice, Principal

Malvern, PA

(610) 669-6449

$23.3bn

kevin_t_jestice@vanguard.com

     

Verger Capital Management

Tommy Elrod, Dir bus develop

Winston-Salem, NC

(336) 758-4129

$1.2 bn discretionary

telrod@vergercapital.com

     

Wells Fargo -Institutional Asset Advisor Group

Rob Kent, VP national sales dir

Overland Park, KS

(913) 234-2929

$21bn discretionary

robert.j.kent@wellsfargo.com

     

Wilshire Associates

Julia K. Bonafede, President Consulting

Santa Monica, CA

(310) 451-3051

$964bn advisory, $6.7bn discretionary (As of Sept, 2013)

jbonafede@wilshire.com

     

Wurts & Associates

Jeffrey C. Scott, CIO

Seattle, WA

(206) 622-3700

$21bn

jscott@wurts.com

     

 



Read More »